The best $20 you could ever spend

Steam weekend deal, Civilization IV, $19.95! If you don’t have Civilization IV, or (god forbid) you’ve never played any of the Civilization games, it’s so absolutely worth the money.

Civilization is definitely my desert island game (if I couldn’t play a mmorpg, might be Eve Online if I could). Civ I was the game that convinced me to save my pennies and buy a PC back in the early 90’s, and I’ve played every version since. Civ IV is glorious. I’ve actually been playing it the last few nights (free on Gametap if you’re a Gold member too, by the way), and it’s the classic “one more turn” game that’ll have you suddenly noticing the sun is rising.

My only caveat recommending the game is this; if you’re currently engrossed in an mmorpg, and you can’t wait to log back in every day, it’ll be tough to give Civ enough time to really enjoy it. Like any single-player game, it leaves you feeling a little lonely if you’re used to people running around your virtual worlds with you, but other than that, Civilization IV is the pinnacle of PC gaming. Brilliant stuff, highly recommended.

3 Responses

  1. I really like Civ IV, though not as much as my fiancé — it’s one of his favorite games of all time, right up there with Romance of the Three Kingdoms VIII (PS2).

    You two would get along well. 🙂

  2. I recently got off the CivAnonymous program for recovering Just-One-More-Turn addicts.

    I can’t wait for the console version. Sid’s actually calling it the game he’s always wanted to make, and it could very likely steamline some of the franchise’s more unwieldy parts into an easier to pick up game… thus broadening its popularity.

    At least that’s the idea. I’ll be picking up for sure in June for my 360.

  3. Oh man, I didn’t need to hear that 🙂 I don’t own a console at the moment. My wife and I co-exist just fine with me playing games on the PC and her owning the television. I can’t just buy a new console. I’d have to get two new TV’s too, one for the console (need better display than I have now) and one for my wife, because she ain’t takin’ the hand-me-down 😉

Leave a comment