Building a community: CoW guild in WAR

If you read here semi-regularly, you know that A) I piped up in the beginning of August, stating that I liked Boatorious’s idea of a WAR bloggers guild, and B) I’ve been slammed with work since just a week or two after I indicated my approval of the idea.

I have to say, it’s absolutely humbling to see what’s grown out of that little idea. To be honest, I was a little skeptical, because I’ve tried, in pretty much every MMO I’ve played, to gather a group of like-minded players that I know from outside the game, and it’s never really worked. The best guild I was ever in, The Fellowship of Dihn, was a group of players who played UO together, and I fell in with them in-game, with no outside organization. In fact, I got to the Dihn folks through a guild of Everquest druids that played DAoC together, but that group, organized off the EQ Druids message boards, fell apart rather quickly.

Watching Casualties of War go from a “hey, wouldn’t it be cool if…” post to the level 8 guild rank, 140+ member organization that it is today has been nothing short of amazing. It’s like a wildfire, the way it’s grown.

It wasn’t just work that prevented me from keeping up with the developments of the guild. So many people joined so quickly (bloggers and non-bloggers alike) that the site exploded. Not only am I overwhelmed trying to learn as much as possible about WAR, but I don’t have a prayer of keeping up with all the activity on the guild boards.

I’m so impressed at the contributions of everyone who has come to play with us. From the people who volunteered to help Genda with the web site, to the officers who are taking leadership roles in the forums, to the in-game players who are actively encouraging guild participation in RvR and PvP…it’s an awesome community effort. There’s no way this idea would have been successful without a lot of smart, funny, and dedicated people throwing their lot in with Casualties of War.

It’s not just the people. Mythic deserves a lot of credit here as well. The Living Guild idea is brilliant, and it gets people invested in the community in-game, not just on message board forums. The people at WarDB are building off the tools that Mythic has made available as well, so you can keep up with guild activity, like Hudson described the other day.

I’d love to say thanks to everyone individually, but it’s just not possible. CoWs, I’m impressed, I’m grateful, and I’m so glad to be running with such a dynamic bunch of people. I think we’ve found the right group of people for the right game, and I can’t wait to see what the next couple years of gaming hold in store. Waaagh!

7 Responses

  1. Hear, hear.

    I am reminded daily of just how nice it is to have stumbled into something so grand.

    Here’s to many years, across whatever games we choose, of playing and laughing together.

    /tear

    🙂

  2. /sniffle

    Ain’t it great? I love it. Thanks to all you guys who “what if-ed” with such outstanding results!

  3. Moo

    10,400 posts on the site in 6 weeks. That community is freaking rocking.

    That is all.

  4. it is a great group. Even though i can’t do much of the organized play yet it’s still fun chatting on vent and bumping into members in game.

  5. /sniff

    … and here I am, missing all the love in the game, but enjoying the warm cozy feeling of the Guild halls (read: forums) daily…

  6. CoW’s rule!

Leave a Reply

