Christmas morning

It’s like I’m a little kid again, awake at 5:30 am on Christmas morning and knowing that my parents won’t let me wake them up until later. Like 5:45.

I’m sitting in my office, coffee next to me, laptop ready to go, just waiting for the servers to finally go live for everyone. I think my head might explode.

Every bit of launch anticipation that I’ve managed to suppress over since I started in the Closed Beta lo those many months ago is rushing back at me like a tsunami. I’m bouncing my feet, my palms are sweaty (ok, maybe I’ve had too much coffee), and I keep looking at the clock. STILL 32 minutes.

And I’m sure at 10:01 am this morning, all hell is going to break loose and the servers will be swamped, and who knows if I’ll even be able to get in? At least I’ll actually be able to DO something, though. This sitting around is making me crazy. Maybe I’ll go get more coffee!

As a person who’s responsible for a couple mission-critical servers in a datacenter, my hat is off to the Mythic team this morning. As much as I’m thinking “C’mon! Launch is still 29 minutes away!”, I’m wondering if they’re running around like crazy yelling “Holy shit! 29 minutes! Aiiieeee!” Good luck, folks!

I’m going to go take a little walk before my head really does explode. Another big cup of coffee, and I should be ALL ready for some RvR 🙂 WAAAGH!!

5 Responses

  1. That’s funny. Christmas arrived yesterday for me even though I’m already playing. A HUGE box arrived which was the physical content for the Collector’s Edition. OMG the box was big and heavy. I’m glad that I splurged on it. I did it mostly for the early access but the graphic novel and concept art is well worth the extra cost.

    Good luck getting logged in today. If it’s too swamped by the time I done with work I won’t feel too bad. I took lots of pictures the other night and have a ton of blog post fodder.

  2. Good luck, Rick. Can’t wait to get playing with you finally.

  3. Indeed, good luck buddy. Hopefully I’ll catch you online tonight.

  4. See you online sir. My colelctors edition box is sitting locked in my condo building office and I cant get to it until tomorrow morning.

  5. Have fun with it! I got into the CE headstart and I’ve still yet to play due to work! 😛

Leave a Reply

