Thieves!!

While I’ve been reading blogs and writing posts of my own today, I’ve been mining in Eve. I just have to turn every couple minutes to empty the hold of my ship into a jet can, and then go back to reading and writing.

When I turned around a moment ago, the window for my jet can had closed. I went to the Overview to open it again, and it was yellow instead of white. And there was a flashing further down on my Overview. Someone in a Hulk had flipped my can.

It was almost full, and it was time for me to get my hauler anyway, so I scooted out of the system back to the station where my Hoarder was parked. Jumping back into the asteroid belt where my flipped can was located, I saw the Hulk mining away about 35k away from me.

One of two things had happened. Either the Hulk opened the wrong can, or he was setting me up. I pulled up next to my jet can, aligned to a station, and started clicking furiously. I had the last of my ore pulled out of the can when the Hulk’s partner warped into the asteroid field, flashing red. I didn’t even take the time to see what he was flying, but I’ll bet money it wasn’t another industrial ship. The Hoarder is a damn slow ship to get into warp, but since I was already aligned, I made it out of there before the Hulk’s partner locked me down.

The whole time, I didn’t say a word. Not in a message to the Hulk pilot, not in Local. Not even after I escaped. I think the ore thieves like the smack talk, whining, and complaining from victims more than they like the loot from the cans, so I just kept my mouth shut.

That’s the first time I’ve had a can flipped, and flipped one back. I honestly don’t know how long they’ve got the right to fire on me. I think it’s 15 minutes? I’m going to undock after 20 minutes and head back to my home station, and mine another system…I hope their rights to fire on me are gone 🙂 If not, I’ve made enough mining over the past couple weeks to fit out a fleet of Hoarders. It’ll be an expensive lesson if I’m wrong, but fun, in a “Wow, that was a neat explosion, even though it was my own ship” kind of way.

7 Responses

  1. Congratulations on a successful re-flip. Probably figured you were a macro miner.

  2. Oh, and it’s 15 minutes as per that little yellow warning in the upper left hand corner of your interface.

  3. Awesome, thanks Letrange. I saw the aggression timer, but some rats had spawned as I was re-flipping the can, and I thought perhaps that’s where the timer came from.

    I moved two systems over, on the other side of my home station, and didn’t see them for the rest of the day. I did write their names down, though!

  4. LOL, Remember you don’t keep your buddies in your buddies list…

  5. Ah, yes, the wonderful intricacies of EVE online. Someday, CCP may wake up discover what a great game they have on their hands and go about fixing some of the more annoying aspects that keep the average player away.

  6. If you hover over the yellow Aggression Countdown in the top left corner of the screen, you will see a pop-up containing a list who your “crimes” were against, and a by-the-second countdown until the flag is cleared.

    Note that f you engage each other, you (and they) end up with a personal aggro timer that will extend past the 15 mins of the original corp-wide crime flag.

  7. Michael, thanks for the tip! I was trying to find info in Kill Rights, but didn’t see anything. I love how powerful the Eve interface is, but it’s occassionally daunting, for sure.

    Letrange, seriously 🙂 Back in E-UNI wardec days, I had whole enemy corps in my Buddies list. Keep your friends close, and your enemies closer!

Leave a Reply

