Vacation – shutting down for a few days

I’m headed out of town for the next 5 days, Sunday to Thursday, so things will be quiet here. Play nice, everyone 🙂

I’m going to have game withdrawal. I’m not bringing my laptop (going cold turkey!), and I’m going to miss…Team Fortress 2! Bet you thought I was going to say the WAR beta, didn’t ya? Well, yeah, I’ll miss that too, but TF2 hooked me.

I talked my wife and daughter into getting me the Orange Box for Father’s Day. My daughter, who’s 8, is playing Portal, and I’m playing TF2. Holy cow, it’s good. It’s a damn shame that I’m so bad at it. I used to be a good FPS player, but man, that was years ago now. Quake 1 mods (Pain Keep, mostly) and Quake 2 took up tons and tons of hours. I moved from FPS games to MMO’s when EQ released, so I got a little Half Life and Counterstrike under my belt, but MMO’s replaced FPS for years. I’ve lost all my skills! I’m having a blast, though. If you haven’t picked up the Orange Box, and if you like Valve games, it’s a huge bargain.

Who couldn’t like a game with characters like this?

Leave a Reply

