Lost an entire evening

Civilization is my classic “Wtf?, why are the birds singing? Wait, why is it getting light outside??” game. For a good 14 years now, I’ve lost a couple nights a year to Civilization. Work is brutal the next day, I have to pretend that I’m alert and paying attention to my boss, my wife, my kid, I’m trying not to fall asleep and miss my stop on the train ride to and from work…it’s awesome 🙂 MMORPG’s can certainly keep me up far too late in the evening, but there’s something about a single player game that makes time disappear completely. I guess maybe there are too many reminders from other people in MMO’s about the time, and I don’t get lost in quite the same way as I have with Civ, or with Elder Scroll games, or the Sims.

So last night, I knew what I was doing. I knew it was late. I knew I had been online playing WAR since 9 pm, and it was pushing 3 am. I knew I had to be at work today.

I just couldn’t help it, though. I kept saying “Just one more scenario. I’ll just queue for one more scenario, and then I’ll go to bed.”

Yeah. Sure. When I fell asleep looking over the scoreboard after a scenario (in which I gained a new Renown level) while waiting to respawn back in the world, I knew I had to get to bed.

I remember standing guard at the Albion milewall in Emain Macha in DAoC, plenty of nights, knowing it was time to sleep, and knowing that there were still plenty of left-coasters three hours behind my time zone, ready and willing to mix it up. There were plenty of times I happily sacrificed sleep for fun, and Mythic hasn’t lost the “one more round” touch. One more turn, one more scenario, one more quest, one more level. And one more day in the WAR beta.

Note: I’m dying to talk about WAR in ways that don’t break the NDA. I can say I’m in the beta, I think I can say I was up late playing the beta, as long as I don’t talk about what’s going on inside the game. If anyone thinks I’m crossing a line, with this post or any post, let me know. I don’t think saying that I gained a Renown level is too much, since I’m not saying anything else about it. I mean, duh, it’s a MMORPG, people gain levels, right? Or, wrong?

5 Responses

  1. Darn you… making me want to play and no one’s been kind enough to send me or my wife a beta invite. 😦

  2. I don’t know how I got in, but I’m not complaining 🙂 I think it had something to do with my old DAoC guild.

    I’m trying to keep on an even keel. We know how tough it is to get everything going in the right direction on an MMO. I’m keeping my fingers crossed! And I’m having fun staying up late 🙂

  3. Stupid bastard and his stupid beta account… DAMN YOU!!!
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    good post….. bastard….

  4. Last night I was playing Warhammer 40k Dawn of War until 1.15 am. I really had to force myself to turn it off.
    I just needed to build one more defence turret, order one more Dreadnaught, attack that enemy listening post close to my base, explore a tiny bit more with my scouts, make one more upgrade so that I could create some Terminator units…but I didn’t!

  5. I spent many happy hours hanging around that milegate 🙂

Leave a Reply

