And suddenly, nothing works

I didn’t make any changes to Age of Conan since I last posted about it. I was actually almost encouraged the last time I played, despite a couple cut scene videos that didn’t play, despite the terribly long load times, and despite the zoning which seems way too often.

Today, I can’t do a thing in AoC. It takes forever to load the client, the multi-core workaround isn’t making a difference, my latency is around 1500 and my frame rate was (seriously) hovering around 1 frame per second. I tried the client at various times today, and it was unplayable every time.

I looked around on the forums, trying to find other people having similar problems, but nothing jumped out at me. Maybe it’s just me, but every other game I try to play is running just fine.

It’s been about 30 minutes of trying different things each time I logged in today, and each time, I had to hard-close the client because the 30 second logout was taking more than a minute.

I guess I’ll try again tomorrow. It’s a big bummer, having this many problems. I can’t even feedback or bug report in game, it’s so bad. Ugh.

*edit* Just found this exchange on the forums:

I’m sad. Yesterday after the patch, everything ran beautifully for me. I even was able to bump my settings up off low and have almost no lag, even inside Tortage daytime.

Today? I can’t get above 0.3 fps. I have no idea what changed between yesterday and today. I’m guessing this is my punishment for saying I could play just fine

And this suggestion:

try erasing your shader cache, shader cache temp, and shader cache log (im not sure its log… but its the 3rd shader cache file) from the aoc folder and reboot through the patcher… it will reDL one of the patches from the other night.

Increased my FPS and slowed my mem leak.

It’s about a 30mb download, which is coming down much faster than the first day of open beta.

And…no difference when I got in game. One frame per second. Latency up around 1000. Wow. If anything, it took longer to load a character into the game, and that’s not easy to do at this point. I was reading my Civ 4 manual, I was so tired of watching the progress bar not move.

And yet, I took the quotes above from a forum post titled “Wow! Game is running super smooth now”. I’m glad someone’s happy! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Haha… you just can’t win, Rick. Or rather, maybe Funcom can’t win. 🙂

    Here’s hoping they patch up the client to a more appropriate version and soon.

  2. Awww :/…

Leave a Reply

