Who’s on Gax? Social networking for gamers.

I’ve spent the morning dinking around with my profile at Gax. For those who might not know about Gax, Gary Gannon and Ryan Verniere of Massively Online Gamer created a social network for gamers. As much as I enjoy blogging on Word Press, I was experimenting with Gax to see if I could get a few more things integrated into one application/location.

I frequently feel like I’m not managing information effectively. I blog via Word Press. My RSS feeds are in Google Reader. I have too many email accounts, and too many types of tagging/bookmarking/twittering/twining. There are so many IM clients that I gave up trying to manage all my different identities to talk to different friends. I know, I should probably give Trillian a try again…or I’ll take other suggestions. Too much information!

My desire to re-organize today is really Wilhlem’s fault. See, Wilhelm had a link to Kart Rider on The Ancient Gaming Noob last month, and I played the Kart Rider beta and loved it. Yesterday, Steam made Trackmaina Nations Forever available for free. I played the demo a while back, liked it, and thought Wilhelm might be interested. I was going to blog about it, because I thought other people might be interested too. But I wasn’t sure Wilhelm would see it. Sure, I could email him, but that’s blogging AND emailing. Two steps! Two windows! I’m lazy! So it’s not really Wilhelm’s fault.

I’ve felt this way before. I want to send someone a quick comment, but I think other people might be interested in the comment as well. Sometimes just a quick note isn’t worth an entire blog post. That’s when I remembered Wilhelm was on Gax, so I brushed off my dusty profile, sent a friend request, and then left him a comment about Trackmania. Brent and Crazykinux are also both on Gax, so I’ve got three people I can harass communicate with over there.

What I’d like to be able to do is blog on Gax, and have what I post over there automatically posted here as well. Someone told me it’s possible, but I haven’t figured it out yet. I think I can also add my Google Reader subscriptions to an RSS feed and maybe read it off my page there too, but I haven’t figured that out yet either. I’m being humbled by teh internetz so far today ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure it’s simple, but I was having fun chatting with Mallika (who maybe needs a Gax account too!), and I wasn’t giving it my full attention.

I do enjoy blogging and RSS feeds, but sometimes I miss the old message boards where like-minded people gathered to talk. At least during the EQ days, you only had a few options. EQvault, class specific boards…that was about it in the early days. Now there are so many options, I feel like I’m reaching in a hundred directions trying to keep up with everything and everyone. I do like the idea of Gax as a solution, but like any social network, it’ll only take off if there’s critical mass, or if the tools are deemed helpful enough to use every day. And I’m just talking about games. When you add in del.icio.us, my library research for school, non-gaming contacts (but who really wants to talk to them?), various emails, social networking sites, news sites…it’s total overload. Part of me doesn’t think I’ll get it under control unless Ray Kurzweil is proven correct and we can hardwire our brains.

I’ll be experimenting with Gax off and on for a while. I’m certainly not changing the location of this blog, but it’d be cool if I could cross-post.ย  If anyone else is on Gax and wants to add me, or signs up and doesn’t want Gary as your only friend, you can find me here. And if you have favorite solutions for information management, or just want to bitch about it, feel free to hijack the comments (looks at Mallika).

๐Ÿ™‚

3 Responses

  1. I am definitely going to check out Gax, if only to know what games you guys are playing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It was awesome chatting with you today, Rick. Here’s to many more conversations in the future.

  2. Forgot to give you a suggestion for an IM program. ๐Ÿ™‚ I use Pidgin: http://www.pidgin.im/

    It’s multi-protocol like Trillian, but I like it more.

  3. I just signed up for GAX ill send you a friend invite! I think my username is northsun in there.

Leave a Reply

