BlusterHammer – Warhammer’s bla bla bla

Mark Jacobs of EA/Mythic predicts over one million beta applications for Warhammer. Dude, you’ve been in beta for almost a YEAR. Big deal.

Warhammer really better perform out of the gate, or people will think “Gosh, 900,000 beta testers thought this game sucked so much they didn’t buy it.”

Gotta say, after being the beta, I was on the fence about buying it if it came out in May. We’ll see if a few more months tightens things up and makes a good world. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, but I don’t know exactly how much they can change at this point. We’ll see!

*edit* Ok, according to this link, the Warhammer Collector’s Edition was the best-selling game in the US last week, on all platforms. And that’s just based on pre-orders. The article is a little confusing, in that it makes it sound like they’re counting people who signed up for the beta, but I’m pretty sure that’s not the case and they’re just talking Warhammer Collector’s Edition pre-orders. They don’t have actual sales numbers up there, but clearly Warhammer has clicked with the die-hard pre-order plushie/map/in-game item crowd. That’s certainly a lot more positive than my analysis.

But still, it seems odd to be bragging about beta sign-ups, especially when you could be crowing about the success of the CE pre-order. Beta sign-ups just seem like such a meaningless number, especially after so long in beta.

4 Responses

  1. I dunno, I’m kind of tired of all the WAR hype and PR at this point. It gets tiresome when some blogs (not talking about this one!) just shine through as some sort of WAR fanboy haven, talking about how WAR is the cure-all for whatever it is that’s missing from the MMO game the reader is currently playing.

  2. I’m a little tired of the hype too, but I do appreciate everyone’s enthusiasm. I felt like maybe Mythic should have cranked down the hype when the announced their delay, but given their large pre-orders, they sure seem to know what they’re doing πŸ™‚

    I do hope they succeed. The stakes are so much higher for them than they were with DAoC. The expectations are higher, and there’s a lot more competition. It’s an exciting time for them, about to find out if they can carve out a spot for themselves.

    I have to remind myself to do a little self-editing and skip the stories that I’m getting tired of hearing. I’m on a fairly serious self-imposed Warcraft news blackout. Tobold’s blog is about the last WoW blog I’m reading regularly. Oh! And Foton, because I love his stories about guild drama. That’s not really WoW stuff specifically, though, it’s human interest.

    I see you just started your own blog, it looks great! I envy your design choices. Good luck!

  3. Thanks Rick! πŸ™‚ It’s not a gaming blog, unfortunately (it would be less of a worry about how I present myself, I guess — plus games are always good fun to talk and maybe bitch about!). I’m hoping that it will serve as a visual reminder/motivator while I traverse the rocky path of the publishing industry. I decided that it was time for me to stop playing around if I’m going to achieve my goals — five or ten years from now, I don’t want to look back and think, “If only I had …”

    The years go by fast. πŸ™‚

  4. Eh, I was supposed to say:

    It’s not exclusively a gaming blog, unfortunately. I worry about it being more about gaming than about other slightly more serious things. I’m afraid I’ll get so side-tracked by the fun parts and thus will conveniently ‘forget’ about the more work-like aspects. πŸ˜‰ Back when I was entrenched deeply in WoW a year or so ago, I basically stopped reading — which was rather crazy for me, considering I’d go through a book or two every week before that.

Leave a Reply

