Ratting in a Rifter

Following up on my Downsizing post from a couple days ago where I went ratting in a Minmatar Slasher, I grabbed one of my tackling frigates and fitted it out for ratting. I haven’t flown a Rifter in quite a while, except when I’m out doing fleet ops with my corporation.

Like the Slasher, I don’t know if it’s more experience piloting or more skills and skill points that make the difference, but I don’t remember feeling this powerful in a Rifter in the past. I definitely think I got chased out of .5 and .6 belts back in the day, but not any more! I lucked onto a Dread Gurista spawn, and even that didn’t make me break a sweat.

Confidence usually gets me into trouble, and I decided to drop into lowsec. Sometimes my ratting takes me into a system with a lowsec stargate, and I’ve poked my nose in there a few times in the past. Early this morning, about an hour before the servers came down for a patch, I jumped in for a look.

The first thing I checked was the local channel. Empty, yay. Well, I guess the first thing I was really happy about was no gate camp. I haven’t encountered one. Yet.Β  I’m sure my time is coming. With no one in Local, I headed for a belt.

I’m not sure what class ships I encountered, but they were too tough for the Rifter. They tore through my shields pretty quickly and my armor rep wasn’t keeping up with their damage, so I decided to warp out instead of trying to fit out a new ship in the time I had left before the server came down. I was doing some damage, though, so it makes me pretty confident I could handle them in a cruiser. I might buy a cheap cruiser and fit it with modules looted from rats so I don’t have much of a financial stake in it and use it for getting in trouble in lowsec.

Of course, what I’d really like to do is figure out how to take ’em out in the Rifter. I think they were two cruisers (bounties around 75k, I think?), so it might not be possible. Or maybe in a couple months, after I get more experience and some more skills and skill points…who knows?

I’d like a little more challenge than the rats in the .5 belts offer. Maybe I’ll have to investigate complexes and see how I do in those. It’s been a while since I poked my nose into a complex, and I seem to remember thinking I couldn’t survive in a 2/10 using a Rifter and had to use a destroyer. Maybe things would be different now in a Rifter? I think I know what I’m doing next time I log on.

5 Responses

  1. Rifter can be a major combat ship, especially with mwd and warp disruptor.

    As to low sec, you shouldn’t fear low sec…everyone runs in low sec and even us piraty types find it hard to get into a fight 😦

    In fact, if you want to go into low sec without getting into a fight….go in looking for a fight πŸ˜€

    If you are ever in lower Metropolis look around for alaph force, Ill gladly give you some ammo from my ship πŸ˜‰

    also if you have any questions about eve in general join channel ‘OTEP’ and if I’m on I’ll gladly chat with you about anything you want.

    -alaph

  2. Thanks Alaph, I keep forgetting to join the channel. I’m terrible about noticing channel tabs flashing, so if I remember to join, don’t think I’m rude if I’m awfully quiet πŸ™‚

    I like your advice about lowsec, I’ll go in looking for a fight next time πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how close I am to Metropolis, but I’ll make sure I bring my own ammo if I’m traveling that way…thanks for your offer, though πŸ˜‰ If you’re ever up in Empire space and need ammo, I’ll drop a can for you. Just open it and take whatever you need πŸ˜€

  3. Boy am I happy to read that!! I’ve been meaning to get a couple of buddies to play EVE, but sine they’re all on Macs, it was a NO GO. But with your post they have no excuse. πŸ™‚

    Add to that the fact that I’ve always wanted to go back to the Mac at home. Mmmm, now I need to figure out a way to convince the wife that we need a new Mac to replace/add-to the PC tower…. that’s be more difficult then The Blockade on that old PC of yours! πŸ˜‰

  4. Weird, commented on the wrong post. That was supposed to go on you EVE on a Mac post. What the hell did I put in my coffee? :p

    Sorry about that Rick!

  5. no troubles πŸ™‚ I swear things move around on their own sometimes.

    Sounds like you have to improve your faction to 10 with the Gameplayer Wives Financial Offices to get yourself a Mac…or get your job to buy it for you like I did! Working the boss is easier than working the wife πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

