Holiday update

My gaming life has been decidedly non-MMO in the last couple months, and when I’m not playing MMO’s, I tend not to blog. There’s something about the shared MMO experience that makes me want to talk about it, while single-player games are more introspective for me.

I’m playing a lot of games lately, mainly Team Fortress 2. TF2 has become my MMO methadone, my step-down drug. Lots of fun, low commitment, but great depth within that low-commitment space. It’s rock-paper-scissors taken to the Nth degree, and I really appreciate how each night and each class can offer so much variety. It helps when Valve does a fabulous job updating the game regularly. I’m not sure I’ve ever had a better gaming value for my money.

Speaking of Valve, the Steam holiday sales are insane. Stalker for $1.99? GTA IV for $7.50? Braid at $2.50? Torchlight for $10? There are a ton of awesome games under $10, and I’m going to have to be careful not to over-indulge. I’ve got Dragon Age wrapped up and under my tree, waiting for Christmas morning, and my pile of unplayed game shame will be huge if I can’t stop clicking Purchase on the Steam sales.

I’m three classes away from my Master’s degree, and I’m starting to look beyond the Master’s for game-related projects at the university. I have some ideas, and I’m compiling video game studies reading lists for the spring semester and into the summer. There’s a chance this blog will move from just talking about playing games to talking about the academic and cultural implications of gaming. Time will tell; real life, work, and three more classes are keeping me pretty busy.

Until next time, have a great holiday season!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

