And the winner is…

Instead of jumping into Darkfall or Fallen Earth, I resubscribed to Eve Online last week. Three things influenced my decision. First, I already own Eve, and my wife and I went out on the $50 I would have dropped on a new game. Second, the videos from the Alliance Tournament on CCP’s Youtube site made me miss the game. Third, I kept saying to myself “I want a game that does what Eve does”, and, well, duh.

I’m still keeping an eye on Darkfall and Fallen Earth (leaning more toward Fallen Earth right now), but I might wait for a price drop, or at least wait out my rekindled desire to play Eve.

There’s also a pretty good chance LoTRO’s latest offer will get me to pay $30 to subscribe for three months and get the Siege of Mirkwood expansion for free when it’s released at the beginning of December. I have the client downloading in the background now, and I’ll play it this weekend, taking advantage of the 25% xp bonus on top of a couple months of rest xp. Free is good.

There’s plenty of competition in the MMO space these days, and Turbine and CCP pulled me in with a combination of good marketing, good value, and top-notch games. I have a couple stories to tell about my latest Eve experiences, and I’ll probably be back with a LoTRO update after the free weekend is over.

4 Responses

  1. Ah yes, I have made this sort of decision a hundred times. Eventually I just get aggravated and wish I had bought the new game :P

    • If I resubbed to WoW, I’d definitely agree with your “aggravated” word choice :) With Eve, I’ll get to a point where I want to try something else, but I haven’t been aggravated by it in the past when I’ve unsubscribed. LoTRO will eventually aggravate me, but it’s a good short-term value, and then maybe I’ll get a trial for Darkfall or Fallen Earth :)

  2. Welcome back to New Eden. I look forward to podding you.

    • Haha, thanks. Get in line! I’m going to play the rabbit to the hounds, or the mouse to the cat, for quite a while, I suspect :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

