Now Playing:

Ryzom, of all things.

I’m still bored with most things MMO. I can’t get excited about Champions Online (and haven’t heard much to say I’m missing anything), I can’t get too excited about resubscribing to games I’ve already played (WoW, WAR, Eve, LoTRO, anything Everquest), and I’m still a little burned out on MMO’s anyway.

The only game I haven’t played that has my attention is Fallen Earth. Pete at Dragonchasers got my attention with his first two posts about the game, but I’m not sure I’m ready to pull the trigger on $50 on a game that got a pretty lukewarm reception over at Gamers With Jobs. I’m definitely in wait-and-see mode on FE. I’m a fan of player-driven economies like SWG and Eve, but I’m also a fan of polished games.

In the mean time, I decided to hop back into Ryzom. They have a three week free trial, and I did enjoy the game way, way, back when (I think I was in the beta, and played the free starter area a couple times), but I never liked it enough to subscribe.

It’s difficult in a way that a lot of post-WoW games aren’t, and it’s definitely a player-driven crafting-heavy economy, but I’m not sure how well implemented everything is yet. I don’t want to play a game that’s unnecessarily grindy…both Eve and SWG had lots to distract you while you were leveling up your crafting/mining/manufacturing.

It’s a little early to tell how I feel about Ryzom, and the Fallen Earth reviews aren’t plentiful or glowing, so I’m doing what I’ve been doing since I left WoW…playing the MMO tourist, dabbling in a little of this, a little of that, and playing a lot of Team Fortress 2 and single-player games on Gametap.

I’ll admit to wondering over the past six months whether I’ll ever find another MMO that captured my attention like EQ, DAoC, SWG, Eve, and WoW. I don’t know if I’m burned out, or if the games are just lacking in imagination or execution, but this has been my longest MMO slump in 10 years.

6 Responses

  1. I totally agree with you that I’m all burned out on MMO’s.

    MUD’s, DAoC, WoW, they all capture my attention for years each. Now, bleh.

    About the only thing I do is keep my Eve account open so it skills up while I’m not around. It certainly doesn’t count as “playing”. But I guess I feel that some day I may return to Eve and I’ll be really glad come that day that I trained up so many skills.

    I too played some Team Fortress 2 for a while. I eventually stopped though. Wolfenstein 3D, Quake 2, Unreal Tournament, UT 2002, Counterstrike. They all sucked months if not years of my life away, providing me with lots of fun and enjoyment.

    I’m not excited about new and upcoming MMO’s either.

    Maybe I’m just getting old?

  2. Fallen Earth is definitely not polished. Keep in mind that I’m trying to focus on the positives of what I’m playing (this week, anyway). There’s still too much lag and too much downtime, for one thing.

  3. try DnDOnline :) its free now. And its fun.

  4. @Robert – I’m trying really hard to avoid that “I’m getting old” possibility :) “I’m getting bored” sounds like it’s not all my fault!

    @Pete – I think you made that clear, but I appreciate you re-stating that not everything is positive. 5 years ago, I might have allowed myself to get too excited, and then to be let down. I’m trying to be realistic about what I can expect from FE, and if it’s going to satisfy my tastes.

    @Thallian – I downloaded DDO! It is fun, and I think I’ll play more of it, but I don’t see it (or Guild Wars) as an MMO, really. I’m still on Korthos Island, but the dungeon crawls have definitely been fun so far.

  5. @Rick:

    For me, the number one thing that hooked me in DaoC and the early days of WoW was the ‘world’.
    The fact that at the time I had no idea what was over that hill, or across the river, or around the bend.
    Exploring was just awesome.
    Heck, DaoC didn’t even really have an in game map! Made your ‘connection’ to the world so much more real and engaging.

    In the early days of WoW, it felt that way too. I remember being in Elwynn Forest and swimming across the south river to Duskwood and being ass raped by wolves.
    It added a sense of danger and excitement to the world.

    I enjoyed most of my time gaining levels in WoW and seeing new lands and exploring new areas.

    Eventually WoW just turned into a ‘been there, done that’ grindy game. I guess DaoC did too which is why I don’t play either anymore.

    In DaoC you gained levels from mobs. So ‘exploring’ the landscape and finding some secret little place that had mobs that gave great XP and were new and exciting to kill was a ‘reward’ for exploring.

    With WoW being ‘on rails’ with it’s questing, you never really were rewarded in any way for exploring, aside from getting a feel of the land.

    I think the biggest thing modern MMO’s are missing with all their instancing and care bare quest rails is the sense of a ‘world’.

    • @ Robert – Yeah, I really like the theme park metaphor. They’ve proven more popular than “world”-based games, I guess, or at least WoW has. WoW distorted the market so much…the difference in subscriptions between world-based and theme park-based games isn’t that great, if you remove WoW from the comparison.

      I wonder if we’ll ever see a breakout world-based game, with WoW-like numbers. The components exist, although they’re in different games…Eve’s sovereignty and PvP and player-based crafting, DAoC’s excellent RvR, SWG’s housing, player cities, resource havesting and crafting/vendor model…there’s a great game to be made that’s not a theme park.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

