No WoW for me

Just for the record, I won’t be buying the Lich King expansion immediately. I’m having a blast in WAR, and I’m so so so tired of PvE in WoW. There’s nothing compelling to make me want to check it out. If I want to grind PvE levels, I’d rather do it in WAR where it’ll mean something, rather than WoW, where I’d level to 80 and unsubscribe again.

I’m not entirely ruling out buying it. I may pick it up at Christmas for my daughter, who still logs in to play with her army of characters, but I don’t think I’ll ever play WoW seriously again.

I do hope those of you who buy the WoW expansion have a lot of fun. It’s a great game, and I’m certainly not trying to knock Blizzard’s game. I played it for years, but I feel the same way about WoW now that I feel about EQ when DAoC was released. Those chapters are closed, and I don’t think I’ll ever go back.

I’m really looking forward to Tier 4 Warhammer with the Casualties of War! I see a lot of people breaking into T4 now, and I think we’re going to have a lot of fun.

6 Responses

  1. I’m with you, but I am buying it… just may hold off on playing. Death Knight, Phasing tech and Lake Wintersgrasp do intrigue me.

  2. Yea no purchase here either. WAR is more than enough for an MMO right now, and if/when that slows, it’s back to EVE.

    Still looking forward to playing Fallout 3, and I always have DoTA around, plus I’m waiting for a Colonization patch to fix it and make it a bit more playable.

  3. No return to WOW for me, either. I am loving the ability to jump into warbands in WAR without committing to a 4 hour raid a week in advance. I guess I don’t know if I would go back to WOW or not if I had unlimited time, but I don’t, so I won’t, if you follow.

  4. Until I see a shift in the method of character advancement in WoW, I won’t be going back. I’m not going to progress quickly until 80, slowly get better gear for 2 years and start over yet again. I’m not saying that other games don’t do this or that new games won’t do this even, but WoW has been around for too long now to keep me interested like that. At least I feel like it’s a new experience in games like WAR.

  5. @ Sam – Yeah, I do like the casual nature of RvR, and the fact that no one person is necessary for raids. Any healer will do, any tank will do. WoW was too much in a box for me. Maybe I’m just not organized enough to participate in regularly-scheduled events, or maybe my RL is just too unpredictable to feel like I’m a dependable raider. And that leaves me off the gear treadmill, which means I CAN’T raid eventually, because my gear isn’t up to par.

    @ Kanthalos – Yeah, I hear you. Since I don’t raid, I’m constantly behind on the gear curve anyway. I did enjoy seeing the PvE content all the way through The Burning Crusade, but there’s not enough variety for my tastes when a game like WAR is available.

  6. Yesterday I received 3 emails from Blizzard offering 10-day trial for my closed accts w/ access to the xpac. Might activate one for my nephew. We cant get WAR to even install on his PC.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

